Colette Moneta Puffy Sleeves Anyone? 

So I have had this obsession with romantic puffy sleeves for as long as I can remember. I had a doll when I was little that had these beautiful puffy sleeves that I thought were perfect and as I grew older I realized that everytime I saw a dress or blouse with a bit of puffiness to it it never failed to catch my eye.

As I have just finished my first Colette Moneta I was imagining those puffy sleeves sitting on the sides of that simple stretchy bodice.

I bought this sulfer yellow Liverpool knit from fabric.com that I received yesterday and thought it would be perfect for a Moneta.


I took the regular short sleeve pattern from the Moneta and drafted a puffy sleeve from this by tracing the pattern and cutting it up into 6 parts. I then repositioned the pieces 1 inch apart and drew a new pattern that included a 5/8 inch seam allowance.

I then cut out this new piece and used it to cut out my sleeves from my new Liverpool knit.

To achieve the puffiness I gathered both sides of the sleeve and stitched a cuff to the bottom with the same length as the original Moneta short sleeve. This band had a depth of 2 inches.

I then finished the cuff with a double needle stitch that ran along the ditch.


I attached the sleeves to the bodice and I am happy with the puffiness that I achieved with this simple sleeve modification.

I will sew up and attach the skirt tomorrow and am currently deciding if I want to do the shirred skirt that the pattern calls for or a pleated version.
Have you ever done any sleeve modifications on your dresses? I would love you hear about them!

Leave me a comment and follow my blog ❤️

Stay tuned and have a beautiful day!

Fabric.com

Colette Moneta Pattern

9 thoughts on “Colette Moneta Puffy Sleeves Anyone? 

  1. Clémence says:

    Have you ever read Anne of Green Gables? I think it is in the first book, Anne is fixated on getting a puffy sleeve dress because that is the fashion at the time… Your post made me think of that!

    It’s a beautiful bodice, I’m excited to see the rest of the dress. I am not a puffy sleeve person but I think your result is beautiful. The colour is also really beautiful, and just a bit unusual.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmensews says:

      Yes! I loved that book! Ive read it several times which makes me think maybe that’s why I love the puffy sleeves too. Lol. Thank you so much for the feedback!! I’m hoping to finish the dress tomorrow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

