Sew Over It Ultimate Trousers or Skinny Jeans for me

Hello everyone!

I recently made a pair of jeans using Sew Over It’s Ultimate Trouser pattern. I have never made pants of any kind so this was something that I went in with a bit of trepidation but I want to try new things and I am trying to challenge myself a bit more with my sewing so that I can grow in my skills. Although making dresses is my passion, I still wear jeans and shorts and I live in Orlando so I am fortunate to be able to have freedom when it comes to what I wear because of our warm climate.

When I thought about making trousers I knew that I wanted to make them with stretch denim because I need more casual pants and I had in mind some retro, slim fitting, denim stretch cigarette pants that fit well.

I ultimately want to make Ginger Jeans by Closet Case Patterns, however I am scared of trying this amazing pattern and I am not afraid to admit this. And eventhough I am SO inspired by all of the amazing Ginger Jeans that I see on Instagram, the thought of doing top stitching on the back pockets makes my palms sweat and I have accepted the fact that I am not yet ready for this step in my life.

I picked the Ultimate Trouser pattern because I am comfortable with Sew Over It patterns and this pattern does not call for a front zipper but rather a side invisible zipper. I bought my fabric from Fabric.com and decided on a stretch indigo denim.

The pattern is very simple and straight forward and although I realized early on that to get the fitted look that I was going for I had to put in negative ease in the pattern resulting in my taking this pattern in a great deal.

I don’t own a serger yet but I was wishing that I did with this project because the denim frayed so easily and quickly! I felt that they were slowly disintegrating as I was stitching them up and trying them on for size.

I ended up using my overlocking foot on the raw edges so that I would not lose my pants completely. HAHA!

I am happy with the pattern and the results. I think I would like to make a lighter denim version next. If anyone knows any good places to purchase light blue denim please let me know in the comments.



Thank you and have a beautiful day!

Sew Over It Ultimate Trouser Pattern

Stretch Denim from Fabric.com

 

17 thoughts on “Sew Over It Ultimate Trousers or Skinny Jeans for me

Leave a Reply

