dressmaking · sewing · Uncategorized

Sew Over It Ultimate Trousers or Skinny Jeans for me

Hello everyone!

I recently made a pair of jeans using Sew Over It’s Ultimate Trouser pattern. I have never made pants of any kind so this was something that I went in with a bit of trepidation but I want to try new things and I am trying to challenge myself a bit more with my sewing so that I can grow in my skills. Although making dresses is my passion, I still wear jeans and shorts and I live in Orlando so I am fortunate to be able to have freedom when it comes to what I wear because of our warm climate.

When I thought about making trousers I knew that I wanted to make them with stretch denim because I need more casual pants and I had in mind some retro, slim fitting, denim stretch cigarette pants that fit well.

I ultimately want to make Ginger Jeans by Closet Case Patterns, however I am scared of trying this amazing pattern and I am not afraid to admit this. And eventhough I am SO inspired by all of the amazing Ginger Jeans that I see on Instagram, the thought of doing top stitching on the back pockets makes my palms sweat and I have accepted the fact that I am not yet ready for this step in my life.

I picked the Ultimate Trouser pattern because I am comfortable with Sew Over It patterns and this pattern does not call for a front zipper but rather a side invisible zipper. I bought my fabric from Fabric.com and decided on a stretch indigo denim.

The pattern is very simple and straight forward and although I realized early on that to get the fitted look that I was going for I had to put in negative ease in the pattern resulting in my taking this pattern in a great deal.

I don’t own a serger yet but I was wishing that I did with this project because the denim frayed so easily and quickly! I felt that they were slowly disintegrating as I was stitching them up and trying them on for size.

I ended up using my overlocking foot on the raw edges so that I would not lose my pants completely. HAHA!

I am happy with the pattern and the results. I think I would like to make a lighter denim version next. If anyone knows any good places to purchase light blue denim please let me know in the comments.



Thank you and have a beautiful day!

Sew Over It Ultimate Trouser Pattern

Stretch Denim from Fabric.com

 

19 thoughts on “Sew Over It Ultimate Trousers or Skinny Jeans for me

    1. Thank you! You can definitely do it! Just street with a simple pattern and work your way up to more complicated patterns. I suggest trying an Indy pattern first because the big 4 patterns can be a bit confusing if you don’t know how to read the patterns. Try it and I promise you will love it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I have to lay my hands on it. My home is in Calcutta and I live in the Northampton, so the distance is a bit of a bummer. But when I do, I shall keep your words in mind. And I have your blog to refer back to 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m about to make these in denim this week and I found your post! Question, how is it sewing back darts with denim? Did you have to be careful with puckers? They look fantastic!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I sewed the darts the same way I would a regular cotton or Rayon. Just Mark the dart carefully and make sure to sew off of the edge. Tie the thread to make sure that it won’t come apart and the will have the perfect dart sewn. 😄

      Like

Leave a comment