At the Arboreum in my Seamwork Catarina

Hello all!

It’s summertime and I am so excited about summer dresses, lounging by the pool, and long days at the beach! While looking for a summer wardrobe I tend to go for bright colors, light and easy fabrics and breathability for the intense sun rays downhere in Florida.

This is the first of a series where I plan on making multiple summer inspired pieces that hopefully can inspire you to start making a summer wardrobe or to simply add a couple of pieces in with what your already have.

I got inspired by the Seamwork Catarina and I was lucky enough to have so many Seamwork pattern download credits that I didn’t have to pay any additional money for this pattern. 


I love the simple silhouette of the Catarina and feel that it has the potential to be a summer or winter staple because it can easily be worn with a cardigan to make it more cozy in the colder months. I picture this pattern as a chic and simple summer dress which could be perfect for a theme park day (I live in Oralndo, FL) or a romantic summer date night.

I bought this amazing Floral Crepe from La Finch Fabrics after falling in love with it on their website. 


It is called “At The Arborutum”and comes in 4 different colors. I chose to purchase it in the color Sage. These crepes are some of newest additions on their website for summer and they are absolutely beautiful. This crepe combined with the Catarina pattern is my first summer make for this blog series!


For the Catarina, I decided to go with a size 4 which has worked well for me in the past with Seamwork and Colettte patterns. This is a very simple pattern which has a lined bodice and a waist tie. The only part which I had no experince with was creating adjustable shoulder straps. I actually did not purchase the 1/2 inch bra srap rings and sliders that the pattern calls for and instead cut out rings and sliders from an old bra that I no longer wore.


This worked just fine because I was way to impatient to take a trip to my local fabric store and I got to upcycle my old bra in a way! The directions for the adjustable straps are very staraight forward and allowed me to smoothly create my first pair of adjusble straps in no time.

After completing the bodice I attached it to the skirt and then attached the elastic to the skirt. The pattern calls for clear elastic but again I did not want to run up to my fabric store to retrieve any and instead used a regular cotton elastic that I had in my stash. 


I have replaced regular cotton elastic for clear elastic in the past and I have not run into any issues with this so far. I am assuming that the clear elastic allows for more comfort in wear however, the cotton kind by no means bothers me and I do not find it at all uncomfortable. It also is a tad bit less expensive than clear elastic.

So let’s talk about this amazing fabric some more! It was so easy to work with and I highly recommend it especially if you have not yet entered into working with more slippery and light fabrics and want to try making a dress, skirt or a blouse with crepe! It is easy to handle and is lovely enough to work with many types of projects. 

I am so glad that I chose to use this print. It has a lovely mix of soft green, terquoise, navy blues and black and whites.




I just love the final result of my summer make number one! Please let me know in the comments what you are making for the summer! 

Have a beautiful day!

7 thoughts on “At the Arboreum in my Seamwork Catarina

Leave a Reply

