By Hand London Holly Playsuit!

This weekend I made the By Hand London Holly Jumpsuit and it was well worth every second spent. This was my first BHL make and I have decided that it will not be my last. If you have not already checked out their website please do! It is chock full of beautiful dress patterns that give you the opportunity to proudly acheive ladylike and sexy all at the same time. There is also an incredibly informative blog that features tips and tricks for advid dressmakers like you and me and sewalongs for their popular patterns. 

The Holly Jumpsuit immediately caught my eye because of the playful silhouette of this jumpsuit/romper/playsuit. 

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PICTURE!!!! 

Anyways, I downloaded the pattern which as of now is available in PDF only. This was perfectly ok with me because I didn’t want to wait for shipping from the UK as I was already determined to start sewing up this pattern.

I chose a Gertie print sateen that I purchased from my local JoAnns which you can purchase here. This fabric has a subtle sheen to it and does not disappoint. Working with this fabric made me realize how much I love sateen and I want to work with it more. 

Keep in mind while consructing this PDF pattern that the pants/shorts portion is separate from the bodice portion so you will have to print out two different sets of patterns. This is only because this pattern comes with a playsuit variation, a jumpsuit variation and a pant variation.


The instructions for this pattern are very straightforward and easy to follow. 

For anyone wondering what type of skill sets are involved with this pattern here are the deets: there is a button placket to construct, a side invisible zipper, four darts on the bodice and two darts on the back of the shorts. I would not recommend this for a beginner sewist but for an intermediate to advanced one. However, if you are a beginner and want to have a go at it, please do because the instructions hold your hand the entire time. 


I am so happy with the way this playsuit turned out and I look forward to making more!


Have a beautiful day everyone!

Leave a Reply

