Uncategorized

Summer Stripes!

I recently had the opportunity to collaborate with LA Finch Fabrics and was thrilled to do so because I am a huge fan of their amazing and affordable fabrics. I admittedly stalk their website frequently, drooling at their new arrivals. I received from them 2 1/2 yards of this beautiful Rayon Stripe print that I had been eyeing on their website and was so excited to work with it.

 I decided to make another Tilly And The Buttons Agnes top hack dress knowing that it would do a great job of showing off the beautiful mint stripe detail of the fabric.


I cut the bodice out by going an inch and a half below the waist indicator line on the pattern. The length of the waist is completely up to personal preference but I find that this lengh suits my frame the best.

I wanted to make sure that the stripes matched up on my bodice seams so I hand basted the front and back pieces together inside the seam allowance to ensure that my fabric did not shift at all during sewing. My basting stitches are not perfect but they do not have to be because they are temporary and simply allow me to line up and hold together my stripes while sewing my permanent stitches. I used a zig zag stitch on my sewing machine to sew the bodice together.

I really wanted to do a vertical striped neckline so I cut the neckline parallel to the selvage to create a beautiful contrasting stripe and finished the band off with a double needle stitch.



I don’t own a serger primarily because I can’t afford one right now. But I want you all to know that working with knits can be so easy if you use a stretch stitch and a double needle for top stitching. Of course a serger would be more than nice to have around; however, I have to work with what I’ve got and I am very happy with the results that I am able to achieve by solely using my Janome 5812 sewing machine.

The Agnes pattern has beautiful ruched sleeves that are right up my alley and I love the playful look that it gives the top.


The skirt can be made by either using a self drafted rectangular piece to gather or by using another skirt pattern from your stash. I chose to cut out 2 rectangles measuring where I wanted the skirt to end and measuring a width of 2 times my waist measurement.  I then gathered the skirt using 1/4 inch elastic and attached the skirt to the bodice.


I’m all about these beautiful stripes and this fabric that is SO soft and easy to work with!

Thank you LA Finch Fabrics and thank everyone for reading. Please leave me a comment below or if you have any questions, write me a note.

Have a beautiful day!

Striped Mint Rayon From LA Finch Fabrics

Tilly And The Buttons Agnes Pattern

8 thoughts on “Summer Stripes!

  1. the blue and white is summery and cool, pretty successful. I stitch most of my knits without raking out the overlocker too – the double needle gives a good mock coverstitch effect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This dress is so pretty! I have just gone through your blog and love the choices of the patterns and fabrics. I see a trend here in your personal style!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment